What's new

$1 Token Conversion from quarters

Whale of a Wash

5 Washes 36Bays 2Vectors
Reaction score
I have my new $1 tokens, and have some acceptors taking them . I have always sold tokens in bulk to business,but the old tokens were valued at a quarter--now planning to only give them out in the changers. Customers can bring in their own quarters and use them, But was wondering if anyone has much for customers complaining about the dispensing of tokens, or any other thoughts. I love the way i can wash a bay with 2 coins.

Waxman

Super Moderator
Reaction score
No complaints and I only vend big, $1 tokens.

I had complaints before taking quarters and tokens in bays etc (was tokens only). Quite a few, actually.

Thanks to a few smart carwash friends, I switched and couldn't be happier. Thanks guys!:)

washnvac

Reaction score
I have been vending $1 high security tokens since year 2000. I even dispense tokens as change in my auto cashiers. No quarters are dispensed on site. Plenty of signage indicating such= no problems.

Randy

Reaction score
In 1985 we started converting over to $1 tokens. One of the nice things about tokens is the customers will loose them, never to be used. Since 1985 we have lost about 8500 tokens a year at .17 apiece. You do the math, that’s a lot money. We don’t give out any bonus tokens because it doesn’t seem to bring in anymore business. Yes we get complaints now and then. People seem to think that all changers are going to dispense quarters and will put in $20 bill thinking they are going to get quarters, even with a sign on the front of the changer that says “TOKENS”.

washnvac

Reaction score
I agree, Randy. My 4 locations replenish about 12,000 tokens a years with a clear profit of $9720 on the walk away. It is a no brainer, in my opionion. I was thinking about doing bonus tokens, but I think I will not based on your experience.

PaulLovesJamie

rural 5 bay SS
Reaction score