What's new

Information for a Newbie

Etowah

HLWoodson

Reaction score
Hi! I’m new to car washes. We no longer have one in our area since the convenience store closed years ago, and a floral shop moved in. The carwash bay just sits there now, dilapidated, and there is no interest from the current owners on opening it back up. I’m looking for all the information on opening and building a self-service carwash. If there are any courses on doing so, share a link to them as well!

Thank you all so much,

Hunter

Rookie68

Reaction score
I jumped in blindly almost 4 years ago buying two self serve washes in my hometown. My advice is Do Not Do It. I am losing my ass and the financial, physical, mental, and emotional stress has not been worth it at all up to this point. I realize my situation is not ideal as I am juggling a regular 8-5, some long term rentals, my family and my two washes. Cant afford any of the necessary upgrades my sites require to have a chance at being successful. Attempted theft and vandalism are weekly occurences for me. Taxes, Utilities and necessary maintenance and repairs are my biggest expenses. I think that housing is a better investment than a self serve car wash at least in my market. As the economy continues to put the hurt on people washing their cars falls lower and lower on the list of things they spend money on. You will not get rich running a self serve car wash unless you are in a major market. If your goal is to just pay off the land over 20 or 30 years and eventually cash out then I can make an argument for it. The guys I know that are wealthy from car washes started right out of highschool, have owned several throughout the years, and usually own several different types all at once. I dont mean to be a dream killer. Just trying to save you some heart ache. If you have unlimited funds a self serve car wash could be a great business.

MudMoney

Reaction score