What's new

Need Cat Pump Help!

Tpoppa

Reaction score
This is my first winter with my 4bay ss. I followed the cold weather instructions from the previous owner (he owned it for 17 years). THis is my first attempt to work on the CAT pumps...

With the boiler and heater on, my equipment room froze during this cold snap. I had some broken fittings and hoses to deal with...no big deal. But the thing that concerns me is that I the CAT pumps were frozen. I have (2) CAT 310's and (2) CAT 620's.

Has anyne dealt with a frozen pump before? What damage can I expect?

After thawing...
310 #1. I ran it for about 30 seconds and shut it off. It started slowly leaking water. I took the head off and found one of the retaining rings and seal was not full seated. I reseated it. Ran it again for 60 seconds. It seems to be fine, good pressure with no leaks.

310 #2 I ran it for about 30 second...didn't sound quite right and pulsed hard several times. I took the head off and there was a peice of rubber seal in the middle plunger. It wasn't obvious where it came from. I removed the seal piece and tried it again...same thing. Any ideas?

I haven't tried the 620's yet...That's tomorrow's project.

wardaddy

Reaction score
You need a couple of gas hanger wall heaters sounds like.....cheap fairly economical.

you can buy the 5CP 2120 Cat for replacement and save a little and have almost same function

Randy

Reaction score